The Statues

I am standing on a vast plain.

The plain is almost entirely featureless.  I am standing on a large circular stone dais, marked with intricate carvings.  All around the edge, there are smaller platforms.  They look as though they should have something standing on them.

All around me in the distance are huge stone figures, robed and brooding.  There are seven of them, and they face inwards towards the dais on which I stand.

I have been here before, a long time ago.

Their distance from the platform is 4.7 kilometers.  I estimate that they are now 1.3 kilometers closer to the dais than when I was here last.  Soon enough they will reach the smaller platforms and take their place upon them.

I do not know what will happen when they do.

~ by Mr. Sleep on March 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
